Fanboys Fanning iPhone Fire?

I often hear people say things like “the only reason iPhone is doing so well is because Apple has such loyal fans.” I am so confused by this statement. First of all, I don’t understand why earning loyal fans somehow is not the very definition of success. Second, most of the iPhone users that I know are not “fanboys.”

At the tech company where I work, 18 people have iPhones. Of those who have iPhones, four of us own Macs, the rest use either Windows or Linux. Some would even be Apple bashers, but still have an iPhone. So 77% of iPhone owners (at my company at least) are not “fanboys.”

To me, this says that iPhone is not successful because of its fan-base; I say it has built a fan-base because it is a fantastic product.

Leave a Reply

